Skip to main content
Version: 5.5

Organise a meeting

The BlueMind calendar allows you to organise collaborative events – whether one-off or with recurrence – to book a room or equipment, and to add a video conference.

Add users and resources​

Oncethe event has been created, go to the right-hand side of the event details page and type the first few letters of the users or groups you wish to invite – the autocomplete feature will suggest all users within the organisation.

Selecting the calendar for invitations

An invitation can only be sent to the user’s default calendar.
When a user has several personal calendars, it is not possible to specify which calendar the invitation should be sent to. Similarly, a calendar cannot be invited. Only entities (users, groups, etc.) can be invited.

Booking a resource – that is, a facility (meeting room, vehicle, overhead projector, etc.) made available to users, is carried out in the same way as adding participants: go to the right-hand side of the page and type the first few letters of the resource – autocomplete will suggest all the resources shared by the administrator. For further information see the page Manage resource bookings.

tip

To indicate whether the user’s attendance is mandatory (default) or optional, click on the icon next to their name.

Check availability​

If any of the participants (whether a user or a resource) is unavailable during the selected time slot, an alert message appears at the top of the details page.

To search for a time slot when all users and resources are available, go to the ‘Search for availability’ tab.

BlueMind automatically suggests, highlighted in green and red, the first available slot based on the date entered in the form. To automatically move to the next slot, click on “Autopick next” at the bottom left

It is also possible to move the time slot by dragging and dropping with the mouse, and to resize it by dragging the green or red lines independently.

tip

As indicated in the legend, the light grey areas correspond to time slots outside working hours, as defined by the user in their calendar settings. The blue areas correspond to events where the user is marked as“busy”

Adding videoconferences​

BlueMind offers several solutions for linking videoconferences to events:

info

This feature must first be installed by administrators, who then make it available to users. For further information on videoconference management, see documentation Built-In Videoconferencing.

To add a video conference to a meeting, go to “Add a video conference”. If an external service has been installed by the administrator in addition to the BlueMind Visio service, the button will display a drop-down list from which you can select the service to use:

A link is automatically added to the event, along with accompanying text if this has been configured by the administrators:

The two icons next to the event allow you to:

  • Remove a video conference from the event
  • Copy the address to the computer’s clipboard
Adding a Webex video conference

When adding a Webex video conference, a popup window opens, asking you to log in with an email address:

This is the email address associated with your Webex user account. If you do not have a Webex account, please contact your administrators.

⚠️ If no popup appears, please check that your browser and/or an extension is not blocking it from opening, or that it has not opened in the background.

Create a recurring meeting​

As with any event, the BlueMind calendar allows you to schedule a recurring meeting at regular intervals.

To set up the recurrence of a meeting, see Configuring the recurrence of an event

Send invitations​

Once the meeting has been set up, click on ‘ ’ to save the meeting and send out the invitations.

For each user, the meeting is added to their calendar and they receive an email notification. They can then validate their participation via the Calendar or the mail app.
↳ For further information see the pages Responding to event invitations and Replying to an invitation .

For a shared mailbox, the meeting is added to its calendar and the invitation is sent to users with a delegation or to the mailbox itself if no delegation has been assigned.
↳ For further information see the page Editing shared mailboxes.

For resources, there are two possible scenarios depending on the booking policy selected:

  • Automatic booking is enabled: depending on its availability, the resource booking is either validated or declined. The organiser receives an email notification from the resource
  • Automatic booking is not enabled: the resource manager receives a booking request notification. Once the request has been validated or declined, the organiser receives an email notification from the resource manager.
    ↳ For further information see the page Resources.

Manage participation​

The organiser, or their delegate (see Manage delegations), receives replies to invitations by email. For further information see the relevant documentation Managing invitation notifications

You can also view replies directly in the Calendar by clicking on the event: 

  • Users who have confirmed their participation are shown in black
  • Users who are pending (or have replied ‘maybe’) are greyed out
  • Users who have declined the event appear greyed out and crossed out
  • Users who have suggested a new time appear in italics, with their proposed new time
Guest participation via an invitation forward

Participants invited via a forwarded invitation are automatically added to the list, along with the status of their response.

Please also note that in this case, unlike when editing a meeting, it is not possible to send the new list of participants to all invitees. Consequently, new invitees will only appear in the organiser’s calendar and their own.

Manage rescheduling requests​

When a user suggests a new time, the organiser, or their delegate, can accept or decline the suggestion via:

  • the notification received by email

    💡 For further information see the page Managing invitation notifications

  • the action bar in your Calendar:

    Click on the relevant icon to accept or decline the proposal.

  • The ‘Proposals’ tab that appears when you edit the event details:

    After selecting the desired proposal, click on ‘Update the date with this proposal’ and then on ‘Send’.

    Recurring events
    • If the guest suggests a new time for the entire series, the “Proposals” tab is only displayed if the organiser edits “all future events” or “all events in the series”.
    • If the guest suggests a new time for a single instance, select the relevant instance and choose to edit “this event only” to view the “Proposals” tab.

If the organiser accepts the proposal:

  • The meeting has been amended
  • All participants will receive an email notifying them of the change to the event.

If the organiser declines the suggestion:

  • The meeting remains unchanged
  • The participant who made a proposal receives an email informing them that the organiser has declined it
  • the suggestion disappears from the calendar popup where it appeared
  • the other participants do not receive anything

💡 Further information

For further information For information on rescheduling proposals, recurring events and delegation, see see the following pages and sections:

Editing a meeting​

The organiser can edit, duplicate or delete a meeting at any time. For more details, see ‘Edit a meeting as an organiser’

note

Guests can also edit their own view of a meeting. However, changes made by the organiser take precedence. For more details, see Edit a meeting as a guest.

Find out more​

Related BlueMind documentation pages

Related BlueMind Blog articles