Skip to main content
Version: 5.6

Mandating a third party to manage answers

With the "Reply to" option, you can define the user(s) who will receive replies to a sent message.

So user A can send a message to user B and decide that B's replies will be received by user C. This can mean, for example, delegating answers to a colleague specializing in a particular subject, or ensuring that answers are received and processed in the event of unavailability.

Setting the "Reply to" field​

The "Reply to" field can be displayed in two ways:

  • To display the "Reply to" field of a message, select the "Show "Reply To " field" option in the "Others" menu of the action bar or in the menu.

  • To display the "Reply to" field permanently, go to Preferences > Mail > Composing messages and activate the option "Permanently display the Reply to field "

When the "Reply to" field is displayed, add the mandated user(s) by typing the first letters - autocomplete will propose all available users - or click on "Reply to" to open the contact selector. Note that this can be any type of contact - user, distribution list, shared box, group with or without messaging, including a new contact. For further information on the contact selector, see the page Search for recipients.

Consequences for messages​

  • After sending a message, the original sender can view it in the "Sent messages" folder.

    💡 The "Reply To" field and the users designated to receive the reply are not visible in the email. To view them, view the email's source code

  • The recipient, after clicking on "Reply" or "Reply to all" sees the recipients of his reply in the "To " field.

    ℹ️ Reply

    When the recipient chooses this option, only the first user in the "Reply to" field receives the reply. The original sender does not receive it.

    ℹ️ Reply all

    When the recipient chooses this option, all users in the "Reply to" field receive the reply.

  • The mandated user(s) - depending on the response option chosen - receive the message in their inboxes.

    💡 In conversation mode, all messages are available in the same conversation, regardless of sender or recipient. theme.common.Pourinfo Moving, Flagging and Marking Conversations

Find out more​

Related BlueMind documentation pages