Skip to main content
Version: 5.7

Creating and Sending a message

Creating a new message​

To create a new email :

Create in new window

To open the composer in a separate window, click the "New Message" button while holding down the Majuscule key, or click the "New Message" button and then the "Open in a New Window" icon:

To set "Open in a new window" as the default:​

Go to User Preferences > Mail App > Composing Emails and enable the "Compose in a new window by default" option.

Reply to or forward an email​

To reply to an email or forward it: use the commands at the top right of the message

The "Reply" option sends the answer only to the sender or the first user of the "Reply to" field.
The "Reply to all" option sends the answer to the sender or to all users of the "Reply to" field, as well as to users in the Cc field.

address fields

The "To" text box is used to enter the main recipient(s) of the email
The "CC" ("Carbon Copy") text box is used to add carbon copy recipients
The "CCi" ("Invisible Carbon Copy") button is used to add hidden carbon copy recipients
The optional "Reply to" text box is used to Mandating a third party to manage answers

For the "Transfer" option, when the message contains an invitation to a meeting, the button performs a transfer invitation: the recipients will in turn be invited to the meeting.
For more details or to find out how to forward the message only, consult the page Transfer an invitation.

To forward a message as an attachment, use the "Others" menu at the top right or the toolbar menu.
For more information, visit Adding attachments.

Filters and automation

It is possible to transfer or respond to messages that meet certain conditions automatically. For further information see page Applying sorting and action filters.

Editing as new message​

To compose a new message from an existing one and resend or forward it:
open the message, go to the "Other" menu above the message or in the commands at top right, then Edit as new message:

It is also possible to create a message from a draft or template. For further information see Using drafts and templates.

Discovering the composer​

After choosing one of the above actions (new message, reply, forward or edit), the message compositor opens on the right-hand side of the interface:

  • : the main toolbar offers you the actions available for the message currently being written: send it, attach a file, save it as a template or draft, and delete it. Additional actions are available in the "Other" menu: display the "From" and "Reply to" fields, mark the message as "important", choose a folder for filing after sending, display its source code or download it.

  • : address fields (sender and recipients) and message subject.

    💡 Address fields

    The "To" text box is used to enter the main recipient(s) of the email
    The "CC" ("Carbon Copy") text box is used to add carbon copy recipients
    The "CCi" ("Invisible Carbon Copy") button is used to add hidden carbon copy recipients
    The optional "Reply to" text box is used to Mandating a third party to manage answers

  • : attachments to the message. It can be expanded or collapsed to show more or less file information.

  • : the writing area of the message.
    NB: the formatting bar shown in the screenshot above can be hidden or displayed. For further information see Edit text.

  • : this zone features a repetition of the main action buttons for easy, intuitive access: on the left are the buttons for sending and deleting the message, on the right access to formatting, adding attachments and a menu for accessing additional actions: adding a signature, using a template, displaying "From" and "Reply To" fields, requesting acknowledgement of receipt/reading, important message.

  • : status bar indicating whether any options have been activated, the folder in which the sent message will be saved, and the time at which the draft was saved.

For further information see Send an important email below as well as Adding attachments, Adding a signature, Using drafts and templates, Choosing the sender and Request delivery receipts.

Sending messages​

Sending an email without subject

In all cases—whether sending immediately or later—to prevent unintended emails, a warning is displayed when the email lacks a subject line:

Sending a message immediately​

When the email is ready and the recipient(s) added, to send immediately, click on the "Send" button in zone E or on the "Send" action in zone A.

"Send now" action

The "Send Now" option is also available in the "Send" button menu:

💡 During a certain period, it is possible to cancel the sending of the message. For further information see the following paragraph Cancel sending an email.

Sending a message later​

It is also possible to schedule a message to be sent at a later date or time.

To do this:

  • open the Send button menu in zone E or zone A and select the "Schedule send" action
  • In the pop-up window, click on a date suggested automatically or choose the date and time manually, then click on "Schedule send"
  • A message indicates that the message has been sent

The message is then available in the outbox. The date sent is shown in the message list and in a banner above the message when it is opened.

To send the email now, open the email and then click “Send” in the action bar. To change the send date or time, click “Reschedule”.

Sending an important email​

You can indicate to recipients that the email contains important information or that it should be treated as a priority.

To do this, activate the "Important" option in the "Other" menu of the email, from the main action bar or from zone E.

Visual inspection

Activation of the option is visible in the composer status bar:

Once the email has been sent, the words "Important message" appear in the message header, and the icon is used to quickly locate it in the list of sent messages :

The same applies to recipients' inboxes. For further information see Viewing messages.

Modifying the file folder of the sent message​

By default, unless specifically configured (see Choice of sent message folder), sent messages are placed in the "Sent messages" folder of the logged-in user. This information appears at the bottom of the composer:

It is nevertheless possible to modify the folder in which an email currently being written will be placed after it has been sent. To do this, use the "Classify message after sending" option in the actions menu:

Conversation mode

This option is only available in the full composer, and is not available when replying to a conversation.

In the modal window that opens, start typing the name of the desired folder and click on a proposal to select it:

If the folder does not exist, click on the suggestion followed by "(New folder)" to create it.
Note: The folder will be created when the choice is saved, not when the message is sent.

Shared mailboxes

All folders with write access are proposed, including those in shared boxes. Folder creation, on the other hand, takes place in the box of the currently logged-in user.

Finally, click on to confirm your choice of folder.

An information banner indicates that the modification has been taken into account, and the information is updated at the bottom of the composer:

Folder tree

Searches and folder creation take the folder tree into account.

This makes it possible to narrow down the results by typing a folder name:

It is also possible to create a folder tree using the / character: by entering "Parent/Child 1/Child 2," if none of these folders exist, all three will be created and the email will be placed in "Child 2":

If the parent folder exists, then the folder is created under it.
For example, if you enter "Research/Information" and "Research" already exists, "Information" will be created as a subfolder:

Cancel sending an email​

To cancel sending a message, click on "Cancel" in the information box at the bottom left of the window:

A confirmation is displayed, allowing you to click to return to message editing:

Cancellation period

The blue progress bar indicates the time during which cancellation is still possible, after which the message is sent.

You can configure this time limit in Preferences > Mail App > Composing messages:

Cancel a scheduled delayed send​

To cancel a scheduled email, simply remove the email from the outbox:

  • by moving it to another folder, for example the drafts folder or another working folder
  • by deleting it if it is no longer needed

Find out more​

Related BlueMind documentation pages