Skip to main content
Version: 5.7

Using drafts and templates

Using a draft​

Save a draft​

Emails being edited are automatically saved as drafts at regular intervals or when you exit the composer (either deliberately or by clicking on another email to view it, for example).
To force a draft to be saved, use the “Save” button on the toolbar:

Visual inspection

The time the draft was last saved is shown in the status bar of the composer:

Resuming a draft​

To find a draft and resume editing it later, go to the Drafts folder in the folder list (For further information see Using the folder list) and click on the email you want: it will automatically open in compose mode in the right-hand pane of the window.

Using a draft in conversation mode​

When conversation mode is enabled (see Moving, Flagging and Marking Conversations), the message list indicates that an email from the conversation has been saved as a draft:

note

A draft is only shown in the message list if it is a reply to an email in the conversation. If the draft relates to a forwarded email, it is not shown as it is not considered part of the conversation.
In all cases, drafts are available from the ‘Drafts’ folder.

To edit a draft from the conversation thread, click the icon and then make the desired changes using the action bar.

tip

To edit the draft outside of conversation mode, click on

Delete a draft​

To delete a draft, click the ‘delete’ icon in the email list or in the email’s action bar.

To delete the draft from the conversation thread, click the icon next to the email.

permanent deletion

Deleting a draft is permanent; the email goes neither to the trash bin nor to the double-bottom trash can. It is therefore not possible to recover it later.
For more information on the double-bottom trash can, see Deleting and recovering messages.

Using a template​

Create a template​

To make it easier to write recurring emails, BlueMind allows you to create templates.

There are two ways to create a template:

  • Either from a new message, click on ‘Save as template’ in the action bar above the message. The message will then be saved in the Templates folder in the folder list (For further information see Using the folder list):
  • Either from the Templates folder, click on ‘New template’ at the top of the folder list or on ‘Create a new template’ in the main area:

Using a template​

Once a template has been created, it can be used at any time and as many times as you like.

To compose an email using a template:

  1. Open the template:

    • either from the Templates folder: open the desired template

    • either from a new message: click on ‘Use a template’ in the actions menu, then select the desired template from the list

      💡 Use the search bar to find a template more easily by typing in the search term.
      The search engine automatically displays all templates containing the term in the subject line or body of the email and highlights the search term in the template’s subject line.

  2. Click ‘Use template’ in the action bar above the email to open the template as a new message:

  3. Selecting recipients, Edit the email content if necessary, and send the email

info

Once the new message has been sent, the original template remains available in the “Templates” folder.

Edit or delete a template​

To edit or delete a template, open the template you want, go to the ‘More’ menu and select the appropriate action:

Find out more​

Related BlueMind documentation pages

Related BlueMind videos