Skip to main content
Version: 5.7

Managing storage capacity (quota)

To manage your storage space as effectively as possible, you can consult or even display your allocated space and its occupancy rate at any time in webmail.

Consult quota and set display parameters​

Go to Mail preferences > General > Storage capacity:

Check quota in your mailbox​

Display user quota​

When preference is enabled (see above), the quota can be viewed at the bottom of the folder list :

A color code allows you to quickly visualize the zone in which the occupancy rate is located:

  • blue bar: less than 80%
  • orange bar: between 80% and 90%
  • red bar : over 90%
  • red bar + red background: over 95%, urgent need to free up space

Alerts​

From an 80% occupancy rate, the information bar is displayed even if the preference is not activated, and an alert icon appears next to the box name in the folder list:

  • orange icon: between 80% and 90%, space almost saturated
  • red icon: over 90%, space saturated

From a 95% occupancy rate, progressive warning banners are displayed, informing the user of the urgent need to free up space:

From 99% the user's home page is modified:

Displaying quota for all mailboxes​

To view the quota of all the mailboxes currently displayed in the mailbox, click on the quota banner :

A modal window informs you of the quota usage of all shared mailboxes to which the user has subscribed (see Subscribing to a shared mailbox):

Saturation alert

Just like for the logged-in user's mailbox, an icon appears next to the shared mailbox's name when its quota is full:

Freeing up space​

When a quota is reached or nearly reached, it notably blocks the reception of emails. Sending and even deleting e-mails can also be disrupted, as the system needs to make copies in a temporary directory and/or the trash to perform them.
E-mails received are stored by the server for a few days to give the user time to free up space.

There are several ways to lower the quota:

Quota modification

To help users free up space, a quota reached can be manually increased by the administrator, then brought back down to the initial value at any time once the operations have been completed.